Welcome to the NCK-Forum forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. Only registered members may post questions, contact other members or search our database.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please - Click to REGISTER!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please email us via contact form with the following detials, such as username, email and type of work contact us .

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Don't get burned by Factory Reset Protection, read this before installing

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
Collapse
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Don't get burned by Factory Reset Protection, read this before installing



    Using Factory Reset Protection (FRP) on the BlackBerry device powered by Android


    Using Factory Reset Protection (FRP) on the BlackBerry device powered by Android

    ENVIRONMENT
    PRIV
    DTEK50
    BlackBerry powered by Android
    Back to top ↑

    OVERVIEW
    On BlackBerry devices powered by Android, Factory Reset Protection (FRP) is enabled by default to reduce the value of a stolen device. This feature prevents the use of a BlackBerry device powered by Android unless authorized by the known user.

    Once you sign in with a Google account, FRP is enabled. Once enabled, only users who have reset their device via Settings > Backup & reset > Factory data reset may proceed through the setup wizard without being prompted to enter the Google login information that was previously used on the device before resetting. This form of reset is the only reset flow that is considered trusted.

    During the setup wizard users are prompted and encouraged to protect the device by setting the lock screen during the setup wizard. This action secures the lock screen to block unauthorized use of the device and the factory reset option within the Settings menu.

    All other resets methods are considered untrusted and will result in a request for Google login information. Once you select a language and enable network connectivity Wi-Fi, you are prompted to enter a previously used Google account and password to continue.

    For assistance with managing your Google account such as resetting your password access the Google My Account page.
    NOTE: If you reset or change your Google account password, you need to wait 24 hours from the time of the password reset/change before using the Google account to set up your device.

    To learn more about Android Device Protection click here.

    The following provides an overview of Trusted and Untrusted reset flows.

    Trusted reset flow:

    Factory data reset via Settings:
    Note: This is the only reset flow that is considered trusted

    Tap All Apps > Settings.
    Tap Backup & reset > Factory data reset.
    Tap RESET PHONE.
    Review the on-screen details and tap ERASE EVERYTHING.
    Untrusted reset flows:

    Note: Any untrusted reset flow will result in a request to enter a previously used Google account and password to continue.

    Factory Reset after 10 failed unlock attempts.​ NOTE: The 10 failed unlock attempts applies to all screen lock methods such as Password or Picture
    Completing a de-brick reload of the OS.
    Factory erase via Device Manager (this includes any remote reset).
    Review the following blog post for
    Getting Started with PRIV by BlackBerry | Inside BlackBerry Help Blog

Top Active Users

Collapse

There are no top active users.

Those who read this thread

Collapse

Working...
X